EPA Orders PA Municipalities to Improve Stormwater Management

Says improvements will help protect local streams in 85 communities

(PHILADELPHIA – June 24, 2014) – The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency announced today that it has sent orders to 85 municipalities in north central and northeast Pennsylvania requiring improvements to their programs for managing stormwater. EPA issued the orders to augment Pennsylvania’s efforts to ensure effective stormwater management programs are in place to improve water quality in local streams and the Chesapeake Bay, which is downstream of most of the towns cited by EPA.

“In this age of changing climate and more frequent and severe weather events, managing urban stormwater is essential for protecting and restoring the waterways in our communities,” said EPA Regional Administrator Shawn M. Garvin. “Our objective in issuing these orders is to build on the work being done by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, and bridge any gaps in making it clear to the municipalities that they need to do a better job of implementing their programs for controlling stormwater runoff.”

The federal Clean Water Act requires the cited municipalities to develop and implement a program to reduce contamination of stormwater runoff and prevent illegal discharges of stormwater.

EPA’s orders also require the cited municipalities to correct deficiencies with their respective Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) programs and to come into compliance with their Clean Water Act stormwater discharge permits. MS4s are publicly-owned drainage systems, including storm drains, pipes, and ditches, which are designed to collect and convey stormwater runoff in urbanized areas.

Urbanized areas generally contain large portions of impervious surfaces such as roads, rooftops and parking lots that channel stormwater directly into local streams, rivers, and other water bodies. Improperly managed stormwater runoff from urbanized areas can cause flooding and significant erosion, damage streams, and carry excessive nutrients, sediment, metals, volatile organic compounds, and other pollutants downstream.

The orders provide information to the municipalities regarding how to assure compliance with MS4 requirements of the Clean Water Act. For more information about Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s) visit: http://cfpub.epa.gov/npdes/stormwater/munic.cfm.

The municipalities receiving the orders are:
Carbon County
Bowmanstown Borough, Lower Towamensing, Weissport Borough

Centre County

College Township, Harris Township, Patton Township, State College Borough

Franklin County - Old Forge Borough

Lackawanna County
Taylor Borough, Clarks Summit Borough, South Abingdon Township, Clarks Green Borough, Dickson City Borough, Dunmore Borough, Blakely Borough, Throop Borough, Ransom Township, PSU Scranton, Moosic Borough, Abington Township, Scranton City, Scott Township

Lehigh County
Catasauqua Borough, Slatington Borough, Whitehall Township, Macungie Township, Upper Milford Township, Salisbury Township, South Whitehall Township, Emmaus Borough, Alburtis Borough, Weisenberg Township, Lehigh County

Luzerne County
Duryea Borough, Edwardsville Borough, Wilkes-Barre Township, Plymouth Borough, Larksville Borough, Sugar Notch Borough, Ashley Borough, DuPont Borough, Jenkins Township, Avoca Borough, Warrior Run Borough, Laflin Borough, Dallas Borough, Swoyersville Borough, Exeter Borough, Wyoming Borough, Pittston Township, Nanticoke City, Newport Township, West Wyoming Borough, Foster Township, Hazleton City, West Pittston Borough, Kingston Borough, Bear Creek Township, Wilkes-Barre City, Laurel Run Borough, Plymouth Township, Hughestown Borough, Dallas Township, Lehman Township

Luzerne & Northampton County
Jackson Township, Fountain Hill Borough, Lower Saucon Township. Lower Nazareth Township, Hanover Township

Lycoming County
Old Lycoming Township. Montoursville Borough, Loyalsock Township, Williamsport City

Northampton County
Allen Township, Northampton Borough, Walnutport Borough, Bangor Borough, Lower Mt. Bethel Township. Pen Argyl Borough, Freemansburg Borough, Williams Township, East Allen Township, Easton City, Bushkill Township, Plainfield Township, Hellertown Borough, Northampton County, Wind Gap Borough, Forks Township, Hanover Township

This entry was posted in Chesapeake Bay, Contamination, EPA, surface water, threats and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.